FIRST POST YEAH / Ideas to pull in some extra $$

Hi, all! Welcome to my blog. The name, if you’re curious, comes from my husband’s nickname for me (I have an aptitude for ideas that “seemed like a good idea at the time.”) I’m going to take time to share some of the better ideas I’ve come across, from green aprons to great deals, subscription boxes to simple crafts, recipes to records and everything in between.

I don’t know about you, but I’d love to be making some extra cash outside of my gig at Starbucks (believe it or not, I do have some free time!) There are a lot of work-at-home opportunities available but not all of them are a sure-fire good fit for everyone! Ideally, I would like to front as little cash as possible, work my own hours (so I can maintain my regular work schedule) and not have to travel farther than 20 minutes. I’m also not in the position to obtain work that requires a college degree yet. I’ve been researching this for some time now and have come across some ways to earn a little extra gas money that I might never have considered before! Many opportunities revolve around sales.

– Direct sales companies, like Avon and Origami Owl require a bit of legwork and social aplomb, but can have a decent payout (and killer discounts!) I’ve been going back and forth with this idea for a while because I don’t know if I’d make enough money for it to be worth my while (I don’t want to do direct sales full-time yet!)
– If you are crafty (I paint, crochet and bake) there is a whole market on Etsy for you! It takes time and creativity, but handmade items are all-the-rage right now. Crafts also make excellent inexpensive gifts (boom! money saved = money earned.)
– If you’re willing to sift through boxes of your old stuff, there’s plenty of money to be made! Today I will be pulling out all of my old college textbooks and other literature to see how much they’re worth on a resale site. I’m also going to see if people still buy old CDs (though I’m sure that nobody knows what those are anymore.) I’ve also found through subscription box trading groups that plenty of people are willing to pay cash for unused/gently used clothing, beauty products and accessories, which is an awesome way to literally and metaphorically clean out your closet.
– Did you know that mystery shopping is an actual paying gig? I didn’t. It doesn’t have a huge cash payout, but from what I’ve been seeing, it seems to be around $10 if not more per shopping assignment. Every little bit helps, right?

What I love about the ideas I’ve listed above is that you really get what you put into them – none of them require a major time commitment unless you want them to! Would you try any of these? Do you have any other ideas for extra dough? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time,
K

One thought on “FIRST POST YEAH / Ideas to pull in some extra $$

Leave a Reply

